h1

Everyone Worships God Right?

June 1, 2009

Would you like to know a powerful piece of understanding to have in your arsenal for evangelism?  Is there some piece of knowledge you would like to have to use as a way to increase your stance in your apologetic message to others?  Of course, your strength, fortitude, resilience, peace, and understanding of your faith should all come from and be rooted in your relationship with Christ and his grace.  I would daresay, if we were all honest with ourselves, we would still want more right?  Just that edge that for some reason, we just don’t feel we have.

As I was driving into work this morning, I began thinking about a couple of people in my life that I could reach out to them and tell them about Christ’s redemptive love and grace.  Some of these are pretty intelligent people who may or may not intimidate me.  Some are people who love life and really don’t want to be “tied down” by any legalistic religions.  Others are “church” people who need to get real with their faith and stop trying to serve two masters in life.  So how do I get them to see that worship God is the “thing to do.”

I began sifting through all of my “theological” mind files and began formulating different ways to present the information, but for some reason, I just could not get over that hill.  What about the people who really don’t believe in God?  That’s when it hit me… EVERYONE WORSHIPS GOD!

I am quite sure a couple of people who read that statement might already begin to get themselves in an uproar like I did when it first crossed my mind.  However, if you think about it, the statement is true.  The only difference is whether they are worshiping God or god.  In Scripture, the little “g” gods have a more glamorous name:

“You shall have no other gods before me.”  Exodus 20:3  There’s not a lot of wiggle room in that statement.  I believe all of us struggle with this on some level if we were to be honest with ourselves.  For some of us who are Christians and do honor Christ with our life, we still struggle with balancing work, family, church, little league, girl scouts… get the point?  So often, we get caught up in little idols making our schedule and not starting our day with the true and living God. Deuteronomy 32:37 is one of my favorites regarding the subject:  “And he will say, Where are their gods, The rock in which they took refuge…”  I know personally, I have had a time of reckoning when God showed me just how many idols I had in my own life.

The issue in evangelising those who are on my heart is not convincing them that they are not worship a god, but convincing them they are worshiping the wrong god.

  • And you shall love the Lord your God out of and with your whole heart and out of and with all your soul (your life) and out of and with all your mind (with your faculty of thought and your moral understanding) and out of and with all your strength. This is the first and principal commandment.

Have new posts delivered right to your email, click here.
Subscribe to Christian Men-Christian Warriors by Email
Share/Save/Bookmark

Subscribe//

logo_facebook

About the Writer:

Trent Cotton has spent a number of years in management and business consulting. After spending some time in the field, he joined the HR department, beginning in recruiting and eventually serving as the Department Head of HR for one of the major lines of business. With such a varied background, he works to bring all of these together to help churches and other Christian organizations incorporate some common business practices into their ministries to enable them to better serve the Kingdom. He currently works for SourcePointe, an HR Outsourcing Agency while continuing to own and operate Christian Management Consulting as a ministry. In his free time, he also writes a lot on Church Development as a Church Consultant.

As a husband and father of three, Trent Cotton has a passion surrounding the role Christian Men are to play in their families, communities, churches and businesses.  This particular blog is dedicated to helping men take back the role that we have lost in society.

One comment

  1. I like your blog Trent. Good for you. My dad is a pastor and every once in a while I forget that. It was good to run into your blog today.



Leave a Reply

