h1

From one of our readers

February 3, 2009

I have the pleasure of being able to interact with the readers.  One such reader, Dante Bishop, took the time to write about his personal struggles as a Christian Man and Warrior, so I thought I would let his words be this week’s posting.

Trent,

God Bless you for your strength and leadership to highlight, not only the role of Christian men as it pertains to our wives and children, but also the role as Warrior!

This is my first ‘official’ post/comment, and it comes admidst great spiritual meditation and absorption in the Word, seeking God’s guidance. Forgive me if I violate etiquette… or type too much (my 1st response I omitted the email and it was lost.

This Site was to me a Blessing from the Lord!! I have felt as David, in a cave, a just hooked up with the 1st of the Mighty Men (no gender exclusion, though, Tara).

Quick Summary of Need: Gideon, Joshua and David are the three people in the Bible whose lives are most similar to mine (I always ask this question, it is great to ask Believers).

Gideon: because God always gives me challenges MUCH MUCH greater than I – I’ve learned to give them right back to the Lord, follow, obey, and Praise Him.

Joshua: As a leader especially in my ministry for children. 1:1-9 Has been my guiding verse since Jan 2008. Joshua 1:6-8 (NLT)
“Be strong and courageous, for you will lead my people to possess all the land I swore to give their ancestors. [7] Be strong and very courageous. Obey all the laws Moses gave you. Do not turn away from them, and you will be successful in everything you do. [8] Study this Book of the Law continually. Meditate on it day and night so you may be sure to obey all that is written in it. Only then will you succeed.

David: I have faced ‘Goliaths’ all of my life, and never feared, wondering why. Then, I read The Word, and found out why – My love of The Lord, and the Faith that He is with me.

My Need: How to NOT drop the slingshot. How to NOT put my sword down. How to NOT continue to, as my best friend says “come up with a Bible verse to do nothing, or ’show mercy to those who don’t deserve it – enemies’. I’ve felt okay with the ‘deficiency’ of letting evil, or enemies off the hook – I can’t possible GIVE more than God, nor show more MERCY.

This worked for a while. It is now being used against me. I’ll provide my witness later. Praise The Lord, and Thank You for your article!!

*And below is his witness*

The Bible gives us multiple references to warriors and battle, both in the Old Testament and New. In ALL circumstances, God’s anointed warriors (David, Joshua, Gideon…) understood that it was God’s battle (1 Samuel 17:47 (NLT) And everyone will know that the Lord does not need weapons to rescue his people. It is his battle, not ours. The Lord will give you to us!” ), but were ALSO called to ACT (David’s slingshot did not shoot itself…)

Jesus pointed out: John 15:18-19 (NLT) “When the world hates you, remember it hated me before it hated you. [19] The world would love you if you belonged to it, but you don’t. I chose you to come out of the world, and so it hates you.

OH DEAR, WHAT TO DO??

Ephesians 6 calls us to put on the Whole Armor of God..Ephes. 6:12-14 (NLT) For we are not fighting against people made of flesh and blood, but against the evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against those mighty powers of darkness who rule this world, and against wicked spirits in the heavenly realms.

Use every piece of God’s armor to resist the enemy in the time of evil, so that after the battle you will still be standing firm. [14] Stand your ground, putting on the sturdy belt of truth and the body armor of God’s righteousness.

As a man of Faith, I can attest that I remain Spirit led. The Spirit has moved me to, 99% of time, to ACTIVELY take a ‘passive’ role (what a dichotomy) such that I am more apt to follow the tenets of: The employer of the shrewd manager in Luke 16 (Luke 16:9 (NLT) I tell you, use your worldly resources to benefit others and make friends. In this way, your generosity stores up a reward for you in heaven).

I also choose ACTIVELY follow the teachings of Jesus is MTH 5:38-48 regarding revenge and Loving our enemies.

I can tell you: I’ve taken ‘worldly’ BEATINGS!! My business is spiritually on Mount Moriah – and I am literally waiting on the ram in the bush (Gen 22:8). Praise the Lord, I have God’s peace, love, joy, mercy, and grace – and stand firm in Faith understanding Mark 8:35 (NLT) If you try to keep your life for yourself, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake and for the sake of the Good News, you will find true life.

So, What to Do, as a Leader, and a Warrior? Rev. 17:14 (NLT) Together they will wage war against the Lamb, but the Lamb will defeat them because he is Lord over all lords and King over all kings, and his people are the called and chosen and faithful ones.” I know that the battle is won. What do I do today? As for me, I will Praise the Lord (Josh 24:15).

**Thank you Dante for sharing your thoughts on the passage.

fb-logo Share on Facebook

About the Writer:

Trent Cotton has spent a number of years in management and business consulting. After spending some time in the field, he joined the HR department, beginning in recruiting and eventually serving as the Department Head of HR for one of the major lines of business. With such a varied background, he works to bring all of these together to help churches and other Christian organizations incorporate some common business practices into their ministries to enable them to better serve the Kingdom. He currently works for SourcePointe, an HR Outsourcing Agency while continuing to own and operate Christian Management Consulting as a ministry. In his free time, he also writes a lot on Church Development as a Church Consultant.

Leave a Reply

